The new Google Maps tool warns friends when you reach your destination

0

If you’re meeting up with friends or family at a restaurant or somewhere else and want to know when they’ve arrived, updating Google Maps is for you. A new location sharing feature in the Google Maps app alerts you to the whereabouts of people who already share their location with you.

Google Maps’ new location sharing feature takes the guesswork out of when everyone will arrive by notifying you when a friend or family member sharing their location has turned up or left a location. This can be useful if you have a teenager going out of town, or if you want to let a friend know you made it to your meeting point.

We explain how the new location sharing feature works, how to use it and when it will be available.

How to get notifications on Google Maps when friends arrive or leave a place?

Once the new feature is available in the Google Maps app on your iPhone or Android, select and tap your profile icon share location. Select the person you want to request location alerts for from the list – note that they must already have shared their location with you. Next, select Add to to add an address to receive updates from your friend. Next, select a specific location and notification time (arrival or departure), then tap Save on computer.

The person you requested location notifications from will receive a notification that you’ve added the location. As soon as this person leaves or arrives at the specified location, you will be notified. For example, if your friend picks you up at a campsite, you will be notified and you can keep an eye out for them.

The person will also receive several reminders to let them know they’re sharing their location alerts, including a push notification in the Maps app and an email, as well as recurring monthly emails.

Can I turn off this Google Maps feature if a friend wants to know when I’m arriving or leaving?

Yes. If you receive a notification that someone wants to be notified when you enter or leave a place, you can turn off this option. First, click on the notification on the lock screen of your phone. Next, turn off the switch for Allow recipients to add notifications. Beat Turn off confirm.

You can also block someone from setting notifications entirely.

Once you do this, the person will no longer be able to add notifications to know when you arrive or leave a certain place. You will also not be notified that you have disabled this feature.


Currently running:
Look at that:

Google Maps Immersive View shows building interiors


1:25

When can I start using the new Google Maps location sharing feature?

Starting today, Google Maps location sharing feature update is rolling out for Android and iOS users. If you don’t see it right away, make sure you have the latest version of the app. It may also be a few weeks before you see the new tool.

You can find more tips here Six Google Maps tricks for this weekend. Also here are Eight Google travel tips to facilitate travel planning.

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.